Blogs » Official Blog » Official Blog » StumbleUpon App Discovery Passes One Million Stumbles

We were very excited to launch StumbleUpon App Discovery a little less than 2 weeks ago. For those who didn’t catch the news, the feature, which is part of the StumbleUpon Android App, lets you find apps tailored to your personal interests and share them with your friends. Discovering the right apps for you from the more than 100,000 apps in the Android Market has never been easier (or more fun!).

Even more exciting is how much people are using the feature and how many different kinds of apps they’re installing. Since the launch of our Android app, users have stumbled more than 1,000,000 times, and since releasing our app discovery feature, 25% of all Android app stumbles are for apps. Plus, our daily Android installs have doubled since we launched the App Discovery feature. We never expected such a great response, so thanks everyone!

Here’s a list of just some of the most installed apps discovered through StumbleUpon App Discovery:

Angry Birds – http://www.stumbleupon.com/android/com.rovio.angrybirds/
Camera 360 – http://www.stumbleupon.com/android/vStudio.Android.GPhoto/
Google Sky Map- http://www.stumbleupon.com/android/com.google.android.stardroid/
Gmote 2.0 – http://www.stumbleupon.com/android/org.gmote.client.android/
Alchemy – http://www.stumbleupon.com/android/me.zed_0xff.android.alchemy/
Key Ring Rewards Cards – http://www.stumbleupon.com/android/com.froogloid.kring.google.zxing.client.android/
Memory Trainer – http://www.stumbleupon.com/android/as.adamsmith.etherealdialpad/
Scanner Radio – http://www.stumbleupon.com/android/com.scannerradio/
Urban Dictionary – http://www.stumbleupon.com/android/com.citc.ud/
Lookout Mobile Security – http://www.stumbleupon.com/android/com.lookout
Ringdroid – http://www.stumbleupon.com/android/com.ringdroid/
First Aid – http://www.stumbleupon.com/android/com.usa.health.ifitness.firstaid/
Speedtest.net – Speed Test http://www.stumbleupon.com/android/org.zwanoo.android.speedtest/
Aldiko Book Reader – http://www.stumbleupon.com/android/com.aldiko.android/
Frozen Bubble -http://www.stumbleupon.com/android/org.jfedor.frozenbubble/

What’s really interesting to a recommendations researcher like me is that we’re starting to see consistent patterns among the apps users choose to download. Some of my favorite (although as yet inexplicable) correlations include:

Who would have thought, right?

We’d again like to thank everyone who has tried the feature (and those that will after reading this post!). Keep on Stumbling those Apps! For those of you who haven’t tried it, download the StumbleUpon mobile app for Android by holding up your Android barcode scanner to the QR code in the picture below:

You can also visit the Android Market on your phone and search for “StumbleUpon” to find and install the app.

/Sumanth Kolar profile picture